top of page

Stuck & Burning in Glamis Sand Dunes

Location overview

Looking for a place that looks like Egypt or something out of Lawrence of Arabia? The Glamis Sand Dunes is the place. Also referred to as the Algodones Dunes, this is a large sand field located in Imperial County, California. The sand field stretches across 45 miles long by 6 miles wide. Not an easy hike.

You may have seen it in such films as the original Star Wars Trilogy, Stargate, and classic film Road to Morocco. Photo wise, it is HOT! We were shooting in 110F. We didn't stay very long. If you're planning to shoot, go during the winter, not the summer like the "3 amigos" we were. Also be aware of nature. Rattlesnakes and sidewinders are known to be present.

According to a local we ran into, you do not need a recreational permit if you're not riding anything. Enjoy the sand, if you can.

Rachel- Photographer

"My car got stuck! Yes, no joke. Stick to the cement. If you don't see any cement, don't drive there. Keep all equipment in a cool area. My poor make-up artist's makeup was melting and I was concerned about my lenses. Take care of your team! Bring water, snacks, and sunscreen. Stay in the shade if it's hot, there is barely any but take cover!! Even with decent sunscreen, my pale skin still burned."

Sophia- Model

"DO NOT GO THERE DURING THE SUMMER. It was a whopping 110 degrees. My makeup was melting off my face. I could not go barefoot into the sand because the sand was sizzling (Yes, I tried it like the brave model I pretend to be). My skin burned within only standing 10 minutes under the sun. There was barely any shade. Not to mention, I ran for less than half a mile to retrieve something, and nearly died from heat exhaustion. The sand dunes are really a sight to see, but consider going a different time of the year."

Irene- Make-Up Artist

"Where do I begin...no shade and so hot! Can't take make-up there unless you have a cooler. My make-up melted. Creepy bugs in the bathroom!"


bottom of page